RQF Awards in Awareness of Dementia – Levels 2 & 3


The Regulated Qualifications Framework (RQF) includes a suite of qualifications in dementia that have been developed in partnership with Skills for Care. The Awards in Awareness of Dementia provide participants with an understanding of dementia and person-centred care.  The level 2 course is suitable for those working or intending to work as care staff; the level 3 course is for those who are more experienced or working in a supervisory role. Dementia Trainers’ delivery of these courses address not only the underpinning knowledge but also the practicalities of person-centred working with people with dementia, thus enabling participants to develop the confidence and skills to put their knowledge into practice.

Our RQF Award courses are interactive and enjoyable, using a wide variety of training methods and addressing a range of learning styles. Candidates are assessed through their completion of our specially-designed Assessment Workbooks, with which they receive one-to-one guidance as required.

We are proud to say that 100% of learners who have completed their assessed work on our RQF courses have achieved their qualifications.

“This course was a breath of fresh air. The assessed work was interesting, and actually helped me to improve my practice.” –  Dementia Trainers RQF Award course learner

“I learnt so much from this course, and it’s made me think about my work in a different way.  I liked that I knew exactly what I needed to do to achieve the accreditation.”  – Dementia Trainers RQF Award course learner 

Course content

  • The experience of living with dementia
  • Facts about dementia
  • Delirium and depression
  • Medical and social models of dementia
  • Medication for dementia
  • Compensating for difficulties and drawing on strengths
  • Inclusion and enablement
  • The environment and dementia
  • Well-being in dementia
  • Values and beliefs about dementia
  • Life history and cultural background
  • Positive person work
  • Dementia and learning disabilities
  • Good communication
  • Responding to different realities
  • Empathy and validation
  • Behaviour that challenges
  • Recognising pain
  • End of life care
  • Services and resources
  • Legislation and policy
  • Early onset dementia
  • Working with carers
  • Activities and occupation